Christmas is in the air*

27 Dec

Christmas = No work = Plenty of down time = new blog posts!

What better time to start posting again than Christmas :) It’s been almost 19 months since I last posted. Bad me. What matters is that I’m back!

I am usually away from Vancouver during Christmas time so I never get to enjoy all the Christmas festivities around town. Last year before flying home, I was able to squeeze in seeing the Canyon Lights at the Capilano Suspension Bridge & Bright Nights at Stanley Park. Due to my passport being stuck in the East Coast, I didn’t get to fly home and enjoy a filipino Christmas with the fam :( This meant more time to enjoy all the Christmas fun in Vancouver. I managed to drag R with me to the Festival of Lights at Van Dusen & Gingerbread Lane at the Hyatt.

It was beautiful at Van Dusen! So much lights.. I think every tree and plant had lights on them. They also had a light show every 30 minutes where lights over the fountain were “dancing” to Christmas songs. We went early in the evening on Dec 24th so the lines weren’t so bad. By the time we left, the line quadrupled! We also enjoyed a chocolate waffle (R had a wiener waffle lol) while inside the park. Yum!

Festival of Lights at Van Dusen Botanical Garden

During one of the rainy days, we decided to go for a quick walk through the Hyatt. They had some amazing gingerbread houses.. one of them even had cookies and milk for Santa in the living room! My favorite had to be the one by the VCC Pastry Arts students (closely followed by the Quidditch field).

  

  

We also met up with some friends at the Christmas Market and saw the Santa Clause Parade. The weather was perfect on parade day.. a tad bit chilly but once we found our spot in the crowd, everyone blocked the wind :)

Rogers Santa Clause Parade 2011

Happy Holidays everyone!

Leave a comment